#1 2016-01-29 04:59:12

IAMREDJOHN
Member
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 4

Corrupt Package.zip for webapp

2 two questions, why do I keep getting a corrupt zip when I try and extract the zip file, and do I have to put the webapp on a webserver or can I just drag and drop the index.html file into a browser?

Offline

#2 2016-01-29 05:03:13

David
Admin
From: Alcobendas, Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2015-04-21
Posts: 1,661
Website

Re: Corrupt Package.zip for webapp

Hello,

I also note such behaviour using Apache Cordova. Certainly I think it's a problem in Apache Cordova I need to investigate too. If your target is the Firefox OS, for example, you can use the webapp option of App Builder, not the Cordova one. App Builder generates for you the appropiate manifest file, preparethe right icon and finally you can use the Zipper tool to get a valid Zip file to be uploaded into the Firefox Marketplace, just like the Calculator sample app.

P.S. Yes; of course if you need certain Apache Cordova stuff, then before the problem with Cordova must be solved, but I am not completely sure, since I am not try to upload (and corrupted?) Zip file.

Online

#3 2016-03-03 01:52:00

IAMREDJOHN
Member
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 4

Re: Corrupt Package.zip for webapp

I am currently using 2016.82 and I am still getting the exact same issue with the platforms\browser\build\package.zip file. Also, in the platforms\browser\www\index.html page I get a blank white page, is that suppose to be a backup for the app? Is there a alternative to building for the web (not firefox OS)?

Offline

#4 2016-03-03 06:54:17

David
Admin
From: Alcobendas, Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2015-04-21
Posts: 1,661
Website

Re: Corrupt Package.zip for webapp

Hello,

I think we can't do anything except wait for a solution from Apache Cordova. I don't know why the Browser platform does not work as expected: may they are in an experimental state or something else. Anyway, if your application does not use Cordova's plugins, probably you can simply run it from a browser, just like any HTML5 application.

Online

#5 2016-03-03 08:14:30

IAMREDJOHN
Member
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 4

Re: Corrupt Package.zip for webapp

I tried that, but I just get a blank white screen. Do I need to upload the html5 app to a web server.

Offline

#6 2016-03-03 11:36:51

David
Admin
From: Alcobendas, Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2015-04-21
Posts: 1,661
Website

Re: Corrupt Package.zip for webapp

Hello,

App Builder produced applications are HTML5 applications, so they work in mobile and desktop browsers without any dependency, while we do not require a Cordova plugin, for example. Then are you using Cordova to build the app? You no need that, if you want to deploy it in mobile and desktop browsers.

If you get a white screen, please, take a look at the debugger's console and tell us if you can view some error or something. A copy here of the console's messages can be good. Also, maybe you want to try your application in a browser like Firefox. If what happend is you want to try the application in a "local way", instead of using a web server, that is not possible except for Firefox.

The "local way" do not work in all browsers since browsers refuses AJAX calls (for example) for local files. But App Builder's applications requires the app's views using AJAX. Also the "local way" can cause other kind of problems, for example, you can't use the local storage from local files in Internet Explorer. Then, yes, you need to put your application in a web server.

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB


Copyright ©2018 DecSoft. All rights reserved.